Research Project on Annin Miru

In the last three weeks, I have posted three blogs about my interest in Annin Miru, titled “Annin Miru: My favorite Vtuber“, “Field Site of Annin Miru“, and “Planning a Research on Annin Miru“. You can take a look at these three blogs under the tag “BCM241” if you are interested. In this blog, I am going to finish my proposal on the academic research towards Annin Miru. The details will be in the following.

Photo by Annin Miru.

Background
Annin Miru is a member of the Vtubers, a kind of YouTuber digitally presenting themselves with a 2D or 3D model. She is a hybrid between Japanese and Taiwanese. And it is the reason why she can speak with multiple languages. Start the business from Facebook and being active on YouTube in recent years. Miru is the first Vtuber that I have met ever before, and start to be attracted by her voice and personality.

The objective of this research is to increase my understanding of how do I see the world. By engaging in this research, it believes that I can become more conscious of my habit, practice, and interest. Expanding my self-understanding from a different perspective.

Problematizing and Methodology
According to my observation, I have drawn a simple network about Annin Miru. The details about the map are defined in the blog named “Field Site of Annin Miru” that I post before. Welcome to take a read on it. With the field site become clear, a few questions popped into my mind about her.

Have a closer look!

“Why Annin Miru is different from other Vtubers from me?”

First of all, Annin Miru is the first Vtuber that I have met. In her YouTube channel, she uses mandarin as the chief presenting language. By comparing to most of the Vtubers who are Japanese, she is the one I do not need to follow with the translator. It gives me the motivation to find more on her. By observing other Vtubers and comparing, it supposes that I can find out other reasons proof that she is different from other Vtubers.

“How Annin Miru attracting me?”

In my self-awareness, I am being attracted by Miru with her voice and the technology that Vtubers are using. Since I start to know more about her by following her live streams on YouTube with social media, new attractive points were found from her. It assumes that I can figure out why I am going to be addicted to Miru by keeping on following her in different ways. For example, watching live streams on YouTube, following her social media like Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

“How Annin Miru is going to succeed?”

As far as I know, Miru is hired by Yahoo company in Taiwan. She has a team to help her to think of how to be famous. However, she is not relying on her teams at all. She puts lots of effort into corrupting with other YouTubers, creating new topics, and building relationships among audiences. The best example is her Discord group, grouping audiences together, and build up their loyalty towards her. The answer may found by joining the group and learn from other audiences. Maybe some interviews are needed while learning this question.

Photo by Annin Miru.

Research Schedule Planning

As I have mentioned in the blog named “Planning Research on Annin Miru” that I posted before, Miru has an open schedule every week.

photo by Annin Miru.

Under the consideration of this, I may need two months to finish my research on her. Start from the first day of October till the last day of November, having the direct observation by following Miru’s YouTube channel and engaging in her live streams.

Search the reason why she is attracting me and how she is different from other Vtubers. At the same time, I can know more about her by following social media, like Instagram and Twitter. By joining her Discord group, it belives that I can understand the reason for Miru to be a success in both being famous and building loyalty.


2 thoughts on “Research Project on Annin Miru

Leave a comment